CAWS Medal for Leadership

This is the old CAWS website. Please go to our new website for the most up-to-date information.

CAWS recognises outstanding contributions to weed management in Australasia through the award of the CAWS Medal for Leadership. This is a prestigious award with, on average, no more than two medals being awarded at each Australasian Weeds Conference.

The award recognises a contribution to the science, technology and practice of weed management through research, teaching, administration, extension and implementation of programs, which is:

The medal is administered by the Awards Committee of CAWS, comprising the CAWS President, Immediate Past President and one other person appointed by CAWS. The Awards Committee, through the CAWS secretary, calls for nominations six months prior to when an Australasian Weeds Conference (AWC) is being held.

Nominations should be made to the CAWS secretary by two months prior to the opening day of the AWC using this nomination form.

Past recipients

The following have received CAWS Medals since the inception of the award in 1984.

Presented in 2018

Presented in 2016

Presented in 2014

Presented in 2010

Presented in 2008

Presented in 2006

Presented in 2004 (at 14th Australian Weeds Conference, Wagga Wagga)

Presented in 2002 (at 13th Australian Weeds Conference, Perth)

Presented in 2000 (at 12th Australian Weeds Conference, Hobart)

Presented in 1998 (at state society AGMs)

Presented in 1996 (at 11th Australian Weeds Conference, Melbourne)

Presented in 1993 (at 10th Australian Weeds Conference, Brisbane)

Presented in 1992 (at the IWCC, Melbourne)

Presented in 1990

Presented in 1987

Presented in 1984